Celebrating 30 Years – The Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards

Architectural Ceiling Detail Photo

Please save the date of Thursday, April 23, 2020 and join us at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine where we will celebrate our 30th Lucy G. Moses Awards presentation. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, architects, crafts people, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

WHEN: Thursday, April 23, 2020
Ceremony begins at 6:30 p.m., reception to follow

WHERE: The Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine
1047 Amsterdam Avenue, Manhattan (between 110th and 113th streets) View Map

TICKETS: $75 – Click here to purchase

RSVP by April 17
Ticket questions: Alissa Catalano at 212.995.5260 or

This year we honor…

Preservation Leadership Award
Anthony Wood
Advocate and Founder, New York Preservation Archive

Public Leadership in Preservation Award
Stephen Briganti
President and CEO, The Statue of Liberty – Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.

Moses Founders’ Award
Joseph Fishman
Henry and Lucy Moses Fund, Inc.

Susan Henshaw Jones
Former President, The New York Landmarks Conservancy

Stephen Lash
Board Member, The New York Landmarks Conservancy

Preservation Project Awards
817 Broadway
Belvedere Castle
Doering-Bohack House
Empire Stores
Fort Totten Building 207
Fotografiska New York
Harlem Fire Watchtower
Henry Street Settlement, Dale Jones Burch Neighborhood Center
Manhattan Civic Buildings
-Appellate Division Courthouse
-Surrogate’s Courthouse
-Sun Building
McGraw-Hill Building
Church of St. Anselm & St. Roch
St. Paul’s Chapel, Columbia University
TWA Hotel

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John Belle, Simon Breines, John H. Beyer, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, Barnett Shepherd, and Robert Silman.

Only projects that were substantially completed during 2019 and located within the five boroughs of New York City were considered. Books, other publications, and films are not eligible.

If you have any questions about the Moses Awards please email Andrea Goldwyn at

PHP Code Snippets Powered By :